One Step Closer / Un paso más cerca

It has been 2 weeks since my last post. I had to take a vacation from posting because of my hectic schedule at Med School. Surgery rotation drove me crazy, but I loved it. As I wrote in my last post, I started doing overnight shifts at the hospital and it came with the disadvantage of less time to talk to my husband. Thank God overnights are over!

Because I finished early that rotation and I had a week off, I decided to do a short trip back home. To my surprise, I called the School’s Students International Affairs department to see how my application for next semester’s rotation in Puerto Rico was doing. I’ve got accepted! Oh, the relief I got with those 3 words! Now the fun starts, moving back.

Took my flight home with more enthusiasm than before, with my luggage full of stuff to leave at home and the biggest surprise for my family, which didn’t knew I was coming. Juan was the only one who knew, because he’s the one to pick me up from the airport. He told me that our little princess Brandy got sick and we had to take her to the vet but nothing more than indigestion😉.

About 4:30 pm, I got to my parents’ house and hid from my mother just around the time she got home. She wouldn’t come to her bedroom, were I was hidden, because she got chatty with Juan. That made me laugh. I love the fact that she sees him as another son. When I came out, her face was priceless when she saw me. She started laughing and I enjoyed a home cooked meal from the best chef I know, my dad. We had our dog Brandy with us, feeling much better, and playing around with my sister’s dog, Ziggy. When I got home, I was exhausted. After a day of full throttle (waking up at 3:30 am for a 7:00 am flight) and dealing with Brandy’s sickness, my body wanted some sleep.

Friday was uneventful and I got a chance to see that my husband’s PD hasn’t got any worst. Those Neupro patches are doing miracles. Only thing I noticed is that the freezing aspect of movements has been more flowy than stiff. And to know that just in a month I’ll be home for good, one step closer to being a fulltime wife/med student, it’s exciting. Four years have flown by more quickly than we expected. Our first anniversary is coming up next month and I hope I can be back home before then. For now, let’s see which Med School’s and PD challenges are ahead.

——–

Van 2 semanas desde mi ultimo blog. Tuve que tomar vacaciones debido al itinerario tan fuerte que tenía. La rotación de Cirugía me estaba volviendo loca, pero me gusto. Como escribí en mi ultimo blog, había estado hacienda turnos nocturnos en el hospital y con la desventaja de tener menor tiempo para hablar con mi esposo. ¡Gracias a Dios ya se acabaron!

Como terminé la rotación una semana antes y la tenía libre, decidí volar a casa por unos días. Para mi sorpresa, llamé antes al departamento de Asuntos Estudiantiles Internacionales para ver como iba mi solicitud de rotación en Puerto Rico. ¡Me aceptaron! El gran alivio que sentí al escuchar esas palabras. Ahora empieza la diversión, la mudanza.

Tomé mi vuelo a casa con más entusiasmo que antes, con mis maletas llenas de cosas para dejar en casa y la mayor sorpresa para mi familia, que no sabían que iba de visita. Juan era el único que lo sabía y porque le tocaba recogerme en el aeropuerto. Cuando llegué me dijo que nuestra princesa Brandy estaba enferma y tuve que llevarla al veterinario, pero nada más que indigestión😉.

A eso de las 4:30 pm, llegamos a casa de mis padres y me escondí de mi madre justo cuando llegaba del trabajo. Ella no entró a su cuarto, donde estaba escondida, porque se puso a hablar con Juan. Eso me dió mucha risa y me encanta saber que lo ve como otro hijo. Cuando salí, su cara no tenía precio. Se empezó a reír y me disfrute una comida casera del mayor chef que conozco, mi padre. Brandy andaba con nosotros, sintiéndose mucho major y jugando con el perrito de mi Hermana, Ziggy. Cuando regresamos a mi casa, estaba exhausta. Luego de un día a todo vapor (levantarme a las 3:30 am para un vuelo a las 7:00 am) y lidiar con la enfermedad de Brandy, mi cuerpo pedía dormir.

El viernes fue muy tranquilo y tuve la oportunidad de ver que el Parkinson de mi esposo no está haciendo de las suyas. Esos parches de Neupro están hacienda maravillas. Lo único que me di cuenta fue que el aspecto de congelación de los movimientos está más fluido que tieso. Y el saber que en un mes estaré de vuelta definitivamente, un paso más cerca de ser esposa/estudiante de medicina de tiempo completo, me pone muy contenta. Nuestro primer aniversario es el mes entrante y espero que pueda regresar antes del mismo. Por ahora, veremos que retos nos tiene el Parkinson y la Escuela de Medicina.

2 thoughts on “One Step Closer / Un paso más cerca

Leave a Reply

