Finding Balance / Encontrando balance

It’s been quite a few days for me. I’ve started doing overnights shifts as an intern at the hospital. This gives me less time to talk to my husband, and more hands on time for my profession. It is a very difficult process knowing that I have a responsibility to both and I have to balance everything to give them the attention they need. Juan is very understanding and acknowledges that it is for our future. We usually do Skype calls at night, but during overnights shifts, we use text messaging as compensation. It has become our way of communication, but it makes me feel like I’m too far apart from him. Even though I’m a 45 minutes flight away from home, it is still in another country where I am, a still foreign place in some many ways, even though I’ve been here for over 3 years.

Balancing our relationship since I decided to move here has been a huge but incredible task. It is so important to me that every night, before I go to bed, we talk or at least see each other through Skype. Thanks to technology these days, a long distance relationship can be manageable. Being recently married makes it harder because you are not experiencing living together as a couple every single day. In contrast to this dilemma, we visualize every day the rewards of our sacrifices. As every couple in our situation, we have those sad days when one of us wants to take flight and go see the other. But the hardest days are the ones when he’s not well, those when I feel he needs me the most and I can’t be there. Having his tough days as a PD patient or changes in his sleep pattern puts in prospective that I have to take full advantage of every single day in Med School and focus on the goal, Graduation, which is one year away. Only thing that keeps me steady through my path is that in the end, it will be worth it and he will be standing looking at me as a prideful husband the day of my Graduation.

———

Han sido unos días extremos para mi. Empecé a hacer guardia como interno en el hospital. Esto me da menos tiempo para hablar con mi esposo y más tiempo para dedicarme a mi profesión. Es un proceso sumamente difícil conociendo que con ambos tienes una responsabilidad inmensa y a los que tienes que dedicarle la atención necesaria. Juan es muy comprensivo y reconoce que es para nuestro futuro. Usualmente nos comunicamos por Skype todas las noches, pero durante mis turnos de guardia, usamos los mensajes de texto para compensar. Estos han sido nuestros métodos de comunicación, pero me hace sentir que estoy demasiado lejos de él. Aunque estoy a un vuelo de 45 minutos de mi hogar, sigo estando en otro país, un lugar que sigue siendo extraño de muchas maneras, a pesar que llevo aquí 3 años.

Mantener en balance nuestra relación desde que decidí mudarme acá has sido un reto inmenso e increíble. Es sumamente importante para mí que todas las noches, antes de dormir, hablemos o nos veamos por Skype. Gracias a la tecnología de hoy en día, las relaciones a distancia son mucho más manejables. Pero el habernos casado recientemente hace que se sienta más difícil, pues no tienes aún la experiencia de vivir con tu pareja todos los días. En contraste con este dilema, visualizamos todos los días las recompensas de nuestros sacrificios. Como toda pareja en nuestra situación, hay días en que uno de nosotros lo que quiere es tomar un avión e ir a ver al otro. Pero los peores días son aquellos en que Juan no está bien, aquellos en que siento que me necesita y no puedo estar ahí. Tener esos días fuertes como Paciente de Parkinson o aquellos en que su patrón de sueño se altera, ponen en perspectiva que debo tomar el máximo provecho de mis días en la Escuela de Medicina y enfocarme en la meta, mi graduación, para la cual falta solo 1 año. Lo único que me mantiene firme en mi camino es que al final de todo, valdrá la pena y él estará de pie mirándome con todo el orgullo del mundo como esposo el día de mi Graduación.

One thought on “Finding Balance / Encontrando balance

Leave a Reply

