Brandy…

First photo with daddy.

On Mother’s Day 2011, this little pup came into our lives. As I was leaving again for a new trimester in Med School, she came as a gift. I’m not a mother yet, but it was the best Mother’s Day present. Actually she’s not totally my dog; she is Juan’s companion. Brandy came to be a light in Juan’s darkest days. She became his motivation to get out of bed and do stuff when he wasn’t feeling up to it because he knew she depended on him. Our little princess, as we call her, is used to him being all shaky trying to handle her. Every step Juan takes inside the house, she follows.

I sleep like my dad.

She loves to sleep in as he does when not feeling well and takes my side of the bed while I’m not around. She normally doesn’t wake him up for a bathroom call, unless is late morning, because she understands the fact that it will happen as soon as he feels better.

As a chocolate Labrador, her intelligence is huge and her love for Juan is immense. The first time Juan fell in front of her she was a puppy no more than 3 months. He fell hard and Brandy came up to him and gave him a lick as if she was trying to say: “I’m here and I’m not leaving”.

What did I do now?

When he told me the story, I couldn’t understand how she could sense his frustration, but a few months passed, and in my presence, he fell again and he was in so much pain, that Brandy came to him and tried to lift him up! I was so surprised by the fact that she knew how to calm him down and helped him up that we decided to train her as a therapy dog. We haven’t got the chance to do it, as I’m the one to supposedly manage her and learn how, but as soon as I get back from Med School, she’ll be trained and ready to keep helping him in other ways too.

Kisses for daddy.

Emotionally, she’s been the best dog we’ve had, even though when she gets bored it means trouble. She’s has gotten loose from the hardness and has had Juan run around the whole neighborhood trying to catch her. Imagining this just makes me laugh and cry at the same time, because a PD patient can run better than he can walk.

She’s our little angel!

Brandy taking care of daddy.

—————

Mi primera foto con papito.

El día de las madres del 2011, llego esta perrita a nuestras vidas. Mientras yo me preparaba para regresar a otro cuatrimestre de la Escuela de Medicina, nos la regalaron. No soy madre todavía pero ella ha sido el mejor regalo que me han dado en un día como ese. Realmente no es mi perra solamente, sino la compañera de Juan. Brandy vino a ser la luz en los días oscuros de Juan. Se tornó en su motivación para levantarse de la cama y hacer cosas cuando no sentía las ganas, ya que sabe que ella depende de él. Nuestra princesa, como le llamamos, está acostumbrada a verlo temblando tratando de manejarla. Cada paso que Juan da dentro de la casa, ella lo sigue.

Durmiendo como papi.

También le encanta dormir hasta tarde igual que Juan cuando él no se siente bien y toma el lado de mi cama cuando yo no estoy. Normalmente no lo levanta cuando necesita ir al baño, a menos que sea tarde en la mañana, porque sabe que la sacará cuando él se sienta bien.

¿Qué hice ahora?

Como todos los labradores chocolates, Brandy es una perrita muy inteligente y el amor que le tiene a Juan es inmenso. La primera vez que Juan se cayó delante de ella era un cachorro no más de 3 meses. Él se cayó fuerte y Brandy se acercó a él y le dió un besito como si estuviera tratando de decir: “Yo estoy aquí y no me voy”. Cuando él me contó la historia, no podía entender cómo podía sentir su frustración, pero después de unos pocos meses y en mi presencia, él se volvió a caer y estaba con tanto dolor, que Brandy se le acercó y trató de levantarlo. Yo estaba tan sorprendida por el hecho de que ella sabía cómo calmarlo y lo ayudó a levantarse, que decidimos entrenarla como un perro de terapia. No hemos tenido la oportunidad de hacerlo, porque soy yo la que debe manejarla y aprenderlo, pero tan pronto como regrese de la escuela, va a ser entrenada y estará lista para seguir ayudándolo en otras maneras.

Besitos a papi.

Emocionalmente ella ha sido el mejor perro que hemos tenido a pesar de que cuando se aburre es un problema. Se ha soltado de su cadena y ha hecho a Juan correr por toda la urbanización tratando de agarrarla. Imaginarme esto me hace reír y llorar al mismo tiempo, debido a que un paciente de Parkinson corre mejor de lo que camina.

¡Es nuestro pequeño ángel!

Brandy cuidando a papito.

6 thoughts on “Brandy…

  1. Pingback: Brandy on duty | Vow for Parkinson

Leave a Reply

