Vow for Parkinson/ Promesas al Parkinson

As a PD patient’s wife and a Med Student, sometimes it has been a rollercoaster of emotions. Most times you have to put a poker face and your head up high to not fall apart. I’ve been having a rough couple of days at school while my husband has been having the toughest days back home because of unbearable pain and tremors even though he has the DBS (Deep Brain Stimulation) system installed and has been going to the doctor for 3 consecutive weeks for adjustments. This has made me feel very susceptible to the point of watching our wedding video lots of times this week. As I was watching our wedding day video and hearing the traditional vows, I came up with these.

I, Paulette, take you Juan, to be my husband, to help and to hold you when you need it, for better or for Parkinson’s, for trembling or for falling, in sickness and in better days, to love and to take care of you; from this day forward for eternity.

I vow… to be patient and understanding,

I vow… to put a smile on your face when you feel like falling apart

I vow… to help you get up every day with courage for what’s coming

I vow… to enjoy every single day with you

I vow… to make the most wonderful memories to share with our future children and grandchildren

I vow… to dream big with you and escape reality through them

I vow… to aid you to fulfill your goal of awareness for the disease

I vow… to love you no matter what forever and always

These are my vows to you… ILY
“Love is never tired of waiting; love is kind; love has no envy; love has no high opinion of itself, love has no pride; Love’s ways are ever fair, it takes no thought for itself; it is not quickly made angry, it takes no account of evil; It takes no pleasure in wrongdoing, but has joy in what is true; Love has the power of undergoing all things, having faith in all things, hoping all things.” I Corinthians 13
—————————————–

Como esposa de un paciente de Parkinson y siendo estudiante de Medicina, muchas veces ha sido una montaña rusa de emociones. La mayoría de las veces tienes que poner “poker face” y la cabeza bien en alto para no desplomarte. He tenido unos días un poco malos en la universidad, mientras que mi esposo ha tenido unos días súper fuertes debido al dolor crónico e insoportable y los temblores en mi país a pesar de tener instalado su equipo de DBS (Estimulación Cerebral Profunda) y estar yendo al médico por 3 semanas consecutivas para ajustes de voltaje. Me he sentido muy susceptible hasta el punto de estar viendo el vídeo de la boda varias veces esta semana. Mientras veía el vídeo y escuchaba los votos matrimoniales tradicionales, se me ocurrieron éstos.

Yo, Paulette, te tomo a ti Juan como esposo, para ayudarte y no dejarte caer cuando lo necesitas, en lo bueno y en el Parkinson, en el temblor y las caídas, en la enfermedad y en mejores días, para amarte y cuidarte, desde este día en adelante por la eternidad.

Yo prometo… ser paciente y comprensiva

Yo prometo… poner una sonrisa en tu rostro cuando sientes que el mundo se desploma

Yo prometo… ayudarte a levantar todos los días con valentía hacia lo que nos depara

Yo prometo… disfrutarme cada día contigo

Yo prometo… construir los más bellos recuerdos para compartir con nuestros futuros hijos y nietos

Yo prometo… soñar en grande contigo y escapar de la realidad a través de ellos

Yo prometo… ayudarte a lograr tu meta de concientizar sobre la enfermedad

Yo prometo… amarte sin importar lo que venga, para siempre y por siempre
Éstas son mis promesas… TE AMO

“El amor es sufrido, es benigno; el amor no tiene envidia, el amor no es jactancioso, no se envanece; no hace nada indebido, no busca lo suyo, no se irrita, no guarda rencor; no se goza de la injusticia, mas se goza de la verdad. Todo lo sufre, todo lo cree, todo lo espera, todo lo soporta.” Primera Carta de Corintios 13, 4-7

Leave a Reply

